WGC-Cadillac Championship adds 10 top players to 2013 field

February 25, 2013

DORAL, Fla. – Several key positions for the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship field were finalized following Matt Kuchar's victory at the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship. A total of 10 players including Padraig Harrington, Jason Day, Martin Kaymer, Tim Clark and Richard Sterne secured their positions in the Cadillac Championship field through either their spots in the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking or the top 10 in the European Tour's Race to Dubai standings. As it stands, 49 of the top 50 in the world have committed to play (No. 46, Hiroyuki Fujita last in top 50 yet to commit) when the best players from across the globe come Trump Doral on March 6-10 for the second World Golf Championships event of the season.

"We say it all of the time that the field for the Cadillac Championship is one of the strongest fields in golf," said Tournament Chairman Butch Buchholz. "But when you go through the names – Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Phil Mickelson, Luke Donald, Justin Rose, Matt Kuchar, Adam Scott, Lee Westwood, Keegan Bradley, Bubba Watson, Dustin Johnson, Hunter Mahan, Graeme McDowell, Rickie Fowler, Brandt Snedeker – it is difficult to find the words to describe the talent that will be on hand here at Trump Doral next week. When you put together the field that we will have, this incredible resort, the challenging golf course with the exciting fan initiatives in place like the fashion show and DJ Taboo concert, this year is going to be the best Cadillac Championship to date."

A total of 10 players officially joined the list of qualified players on Monday as noted below:

Players qualified via Official World Golf Rankings who were not otherwise qualified:
No. 28 – Martin Kaymer, Germany
No. 35 – Jason Day, Australia
No. 47 – Fredrik Jacobson, Sweden
No. 48 – Tim Clark, South Africa
No. 49 – Alexander Noren, Sweden
No. 50 – Padraig Harrington, Ireland

Players qualified via European Tour’s Race to Dubai who were not otherwise qualified:
No. 1 – Richard Sterne, South Africa
No. 2 – Scott Jamieson, Scotland
No. 8 – Chris Wood, England
No. 9 – Stephen Gallacher, Scotland

The top 50 in the world and the top 10 in the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup standings not otherwise qualified will earn the final spots in the field following this week’s event on Monday, March 5. Below is a look at the how players stand who are not otherwise qualified.

Top 10 in the FedExCup standings will qualify as of March 4 – players below are not otherwise qualified:

Rank Name Country
Rank Name Country
No. 5 Brian Gay USA
No. 11 Chris Kirk USA
No. 6 John Merrick USA
No. 12 Jimmy Walker USA
No. 7 Russell Henley USA
No. 14 Josh Teater USA
No. 8 Charles Howell III USA
No. 21 Charlie Beljan USA

Top 50-65 in the Official World Golf Ranking not otherwise qualified (those who move into top 50 will complete the field).

Rank Name Country
Rank Name Country
No. 53 Russell Henley USA
No. 62 Shane Lowry Ireland
No. 54 Thomas Bjorn Denmark
No. 63 Richard Ramsay Scotland
No. 55 Henrik Stenson Sweden
No. 64 Charles Howell III USA
No. 56 David Toms USA
No. 65 K.J. Choi Korea
No. 58 Thongchai Jaidee Thailand

Below is a list of players who have already qualified for the 2013 WGC-Cadillac Championship:

WGC-Cadillac Championship qualifiers
Player Country
Adam Scott Australia
John Senden Australia
Marcus Fraser Australia
Peter Senior Australia
Jason Day Australia
Nicolas Colsaerts Belgium
Thorbjorn Olesen Denmark
Chris Wood England
David Lynn England
Ian Poulter England
Justin Rose England
Lee Westwood England
Luke Donald England
Gonzalo Fdez-Castano Spain
Rafa Cabrera-Bello Spain
Sergio Garcia Spain
Marcel Siem Germany
Martin Kaymer Germany
Padraig Harrington Ireland
Francesco Molinari Italy
Matteo Manassero Italy
Hiroyuki Fujita Japan
Toru Taniguchi Japan
Graeme McDowell No. Ireland
Rory McIlroy No. Ireland
Michael Hendry New Zealand
Branden Grace South Africa
Charl Schwartzel South Africa
Ernie Els South Africa
George Coetzee South Africa
Louis Oosthuizen South Africa
Richard Sterne South Africa
Tim Clark South Africa
Paul Lawrie Scotland
Scott Jamieson Scotland
Stephen Gallacher Scotland
Carl Pettersson Sweden
Peter Hanson Sweden
Alexander Noren Sweden
Fredrik Jacobson Sweden
Thaworn Wiratchant Thailand
Ryan Moore United States
Bo Van Pelt United States
Brandt Snedeker United States
Bubba Watson United States
Dustin Johnson United States
Hunter Mahan United States
Jason Dufner United States
Jim Furyk United States
John Huh United States
Keegan Bradley United States
Matt Kuchar United States
Nick Watney United States
Phil Mickelson United States
Rickie Fowler United States
Robert Garrigus United States
Scott Piercy United States
Steve Stricker United States
Tiger Woods United States
Webb Simpson United States
Zach Johnson United States
Jamie Donaldson Wales